Bay Area players not in contention for individual PBA awards


PLAYERS from the Bay Area Dragons guest team are not eligible for individual PBA Commissioner’s Cup awards.

That was the deal before the midseason conference, with the Dragons only qualifying to compete for the championship.

Under this arrangement, only the 12 regular ball clubs qualify for the conference’s MVP award.

Myles Powell, who has done the most damage for the Dragons in their first two games so far, is also out of contention for the top import award, especially with him and 6-foot-10 Andrew Nicholson alternate thumbs as team reinforcement. as arranged by the league with the visiting ball club.

Nicholson will replace Powell as the Dragons import their fifth game in the PBA.

But in their ninth outing, the team will have to make a choice between Powell and Nicholson on who to hold onto from the end of eliminations.



Historically, guest teams in the past that competed in the league were not also considered for individual awards.

During the 1985 season, the national team wearing the colors of Northern Consolidated Corp. appeared in all three conferences and even won the season-ending reinforced conference with a 4-0 sweep of Manila Beer in the final.


None of the NCC members including Allan Caidic, Samboy Lim, Alfie Almario, Hector Calma and naturalized players Dennis Still and Jeff Moore received individual honors.

Back in the 2011 Commissioner’s Cup, Smart Gilas also saw action as a guest team and was a title contender, but no one among national players such as Marcus Douthit, Marcio Lassiter, Chris Lutz, Mark Barroca, JVee Casio, Chris Tiu and the rest were considered for individual awards.

We are now on Quento! to enjoy more articles and videos from and other Summit Media websites.


About Author

Comments are closed.