Five Rebels Participate in SEC Student-Athlete Leadership Council Meetings


BIRMINGHAM, Alabama.(Exit) Sixty-five student-athletes from the Southeastern Conference, including five from Ole Miss, participated in an SEC Student-Athlete Leadership Council meeting at the SEC offices last weekend.

Meeting attendees included Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) representatives from Samantha Schnitta in volleyball and Loral Winn from cross-country and track and field, KD Hill from the Football Leadership Council as well as Matthew Murrell and Madison Scott of the Men’s and Women’s Basketball Board of Directors.

During the two-day meeting, the Board heard a leadership presentation from Clay Scroggins and participated in a discussion on mental health with Nafis Ricks. The student-athletes were also updated on the NCAA Division I Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) and discussed SAAC programming on SEC campuses. The agenda also included a conversation with SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey and updates on the SEC Council on Racial Equity and Social Justice and legislative items from the SEC and the NCAA.

Student-athlete leadership councils were introduced in 2016 for the sports of men’s and women’s soccer and basketball, which, in addition to SAAC, provide student-athletes with additional opportunities to engage with campus leaders and staff at the campus. conference office. The councils serve as a channel of communication with the conference office on issues related to the student-athlete experience and student-athlete welfare.

Evelyne Van Pelt

Evelyne Van Pelt

Evelyn has covered sports for over two decades, beginning her journalism career as a sports writer for a newspaper in Austin, Texas. She attended Texas A&M and majored in English. Evelyn’s love for Ole Miss began when her daughter Katie attended college on a volleyball scholarship. Prior to founding The Rebel Walk, Evelyn was a sportswriter for a Texas newspaper. She created the Rebel Walk in 2013 and has served as publisher and editor since its inception.


About Author

Comments are closed.