Myles Garrett wins ‘Top Professional Athlete’ award, 2021 NFL Draft honored at Greater Cleveland Sports Awards


The Greater Cleveland Sports Commission dedicated two of its awards Wednesday night at the Greater Cleveland Sports Awards to two of Cleveland’s greatest football accomplishments from 2021.

The first was the Professional Athlete of the Year award, given to Browns DE Myles Garrett after his record-breaking season. Garrett, the 2017 first overall pick, set the franchise record with 16 sacks as well as the single-game sack record when he compiled 4.5 sacks against the Bears in Week 3. Garrett beat Jose Ramirez of the Guardians and Darius of the Cavaliers. Garland for the price.

“Thank you to the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission for presenting me with the Professional Athlete of the Year award,” Garrett said. “I want to thank the Athletics Commission for all you do in the Cleveland community. Thank you, especially, to everyone who voted for me to win this award, and to the amazing fans in Cleveland, Ohio. There are no fans like you.. I would also like to thank my teammates, my coaches, my friends and everyone who has helped me along my journey, I couldn’t have done it without you.

The second prize was for Best Moment, which was dedicated to the city of Cleveland after hosting the 2021 NFL Draft. The three-day event was held in a giant amphitheater built downtown next to the stadium. FirstEnergy and was considered a success for the city, with restaurants and local downtown businesses receiving a much-needed revenue boost as they recover from the financial difficulties of the COVID-19 pandemic. .

The draft was also considered a big success for the NFL. The league previously held its draft and other league-wide meetings virtually in 2020 due to the pandemic, but the draft signified a return to normalcy and provided refreshing scenes of fans gathering to celebrate a period. important part of the NFL calendar.

The Browns’ 2021 first-round pick CB Greg Newsome II and legendary QB Bernie Kosar accepted the award for Best Onstage Moment at Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse.


About Author

Comments are closed.