Rowing lands five in Pocock All-America first team


AUSTIN, Texas – The University of Texas rowing team has recruited five student-athletes to the Pocock Racing Shells All-America team, the organization announced Thursday. rowers Aspa Christodoulidis, Anna Jensen, Kaitlin Knifton and Francesca Raggiand coxswain Rachel Rane all claimed first-team honors.

The two-time defending national champions tied a better program with five first-team winners, and it’s the fifth time in program history that Texas has had five All-America selections overall. Christodoulidis, Knifton, Raggi and Rane also won first-team accolades in 2021.

Raggi, the 2022 Big 12 Rower of the Year, received her third career All-America honor, having also been named to the second team in 2019.

Knifton was recognized as an All-American for the second time in her career and was also nominated for CRCA All-America honors in 2020, but the lack of competitive or national championship results due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 19 prevented the awarding of first-team and second-team honors. However, CRCA coaches still wanted to find a way to recognize top performers in NCAA women’s rowing.

Christodoulidis and Rane also received All-America honors for the second time, while Jensen earned his first career All-American honor.

The quintet helped Texas win a second consecutive NCAA championship and also won the first national Varsity Eight crown for the second consecutive year.

Christodoulidis, Jensen, Knifton, Raggi and Rane also helped guide the varsity first eight to a seventh straight Big 12 individual title, as Texas won its seventh straight tag team championship and 11th overall in 13 years of history of the Big 12 Championship.

Each year, CRCA coaches recognize outstanding student-athletes from each NCAA Division (I, II, and III). Student-athletes must have competed in at least 75% of the team’s races in the varsity boat. All-America athletes are selected from athletes previously named to the All-Region First Team. Selection criteria include: boat performance, nomination rank, coach comments, individual accomplishments and individual two kilometer ergometer score.

2022 Pocock Racing Shells All-America Team (University of Texas selections)

Aspa Christodoulidisfirst team

Anna Jensenfirst team

Kaitlin Kniftonfirst team

Francesca Raggifirst team

Rachel Ranefirst team


About Author

Comments are closed.