Sjerven and Kopp named South Dakota Athletes of the Year


VERMILLION, SD – Senior Basketball Player Hannah sjerven and swimmer in second year Zachary Kopp were named South Dakota’s Athletes of the Year, announced Friday in a digital version of The Charlies, the sports department’s annual awards ceremony.

This is the second year in a row that female athlete of the year Catie Tobin has just Dawn Plitzuweitprogram of. Sjerven led the Coyotes to a 19-6 record, capped with a Summit League title and the program’s third appearance at the NCAA tournament. She led the team with averages of 17.1 points and 9.8 rebounds while shooting better than 52 percent from the field.

Sjerven, a native of Rogers, Minnesota, was named Summit League Defensive Player of the Year for the second straight season after leading the league in blocks and placing fourth in interceptions. She won the Summits League first team accolades for the second time in as many seasons and was a finalist for Mid-Major Player of the Year. His resume was highlighted with a 31-point, 21-rebound performance in a road win at Bradley in mid-December.

Kopp becomes the first known representative of the swim and diving program to be named the John Van Why Male Athlete of the Year, an award that debuted in 2001. Kopp was named the Summit League Male Swimmer of the Year. and male championship swimmer. after leading the Coyotes to their first Summit League title in April. He won five gold medals – two individual and three as a relay member – at the competition held in Fargo, North Dakota.

Kopp won the 50-yard freestyle and 100-yard backstroke at the Summit League Championship Meet. He was also a member of the 200-yard free, 200-yard medley and 400-yard free relay teams. He added more points to the team’s tally with a fourth place in the 100-yard freestyle.

Kopp is from Otsego, Minnesota. He is one of three brothers who competed in coach Jason mahowaldprogram of.

The Female Athlete of the Year award is named in honor of Catie Tobin, who was one of the first female track and field athletes to compete for the University of South Dakota. The Male Athlete of the Year is named in honor of Dr John Van Why, former head of the University’s physical education department who emphasized the importance of athletics and physical activity in the 1950s.

Past recipients of the Catie Tobin and Dr John Van Why awards are listed below:

Catie Tobin Female Athlete of the Year

2021: Hannah sjervenbasketball
2020: Ciara Duffy, basketball
2019: Hayley Dotseth, volleyball
2018: Shanice Cannigan, athletics
2017: Audrey Reeg, volleyball
2016: Nicole Seekamp, ​​basketball
2015: Nicole Seekamp, ​​basketball
2014: Kendall Kritenbrink, volleyball
2013: Bethany Buell, athletics
2012: Amber Hegge, basketball
2011: Amber Hegge, basketball
2010: Ramsey Fitzsimmons, cross country / track and field
2009: Stacy Bjorlie, swimming and diving
2008: Unknown
2007: Heidi Muellenberg, athletics
2006: Aimee Nielsen, cross country / track and field
2005: Lindsey Soukup, volleyball
2004: Becky Olson, volleyball
2003: Molly Wedel, cross country / athletics
2002: Sandy Pelkofer, athletics
2001: Tiffany Davis, softball

Dr. John Van Why Male Athlete of the Year

2021: Zachary Kopp, swimming and diving
2020: Chris Nilsen, Athletics
2019: Chris Nilsen, Athletics
2018: Chris Streveler, football
2017: Chris Nilsen, Athletics
2016: Teivaskie Lewin, Athletics
2015 : Teivaskie Lewin, Athletics
2014: Tyler Starr, football
2013: Jeff Mettler, cross country / athletics
2012: Tom Compton, football
2011: Will Powell, football
2010: Noah Shepard, football; Tyler Cain, basketball player
2009: Dylan Grimsley, basketball
2008: Unknown
2007: Stefan Logan, football / athletics
2006: Wesley Beschorner, football
2005: Josh Mueller, basketball
2004: Tommie King, basketball
2003: Bill Gassen, football
2002: Tom Green, athletics
2001: Nate Tibbetts, basketball


About Author

Leave A Reply