World athlete of the year, a difficult bridge for Jackson, Fraser-Pryce | Sports


DESPITE RUNNING the second-fastest 200 meters of all time at the World Championships in Athletics in Eugene, Oregon, the names of this year’s World Athlete of the Year could make it difficult to obtaining a prize for the Jamaican Shericka Jackson.

Jackson, who was shortlisted for the honor for the first time, will have Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce for company as Jamaicans on the list, but the legendary sprinter will also find the accomplishments of others on the list difficult to impersonate.

Fraser-Pryce made the 10-woman shortlist after winning her fifth world 100-meter title at the World Championships in Eugene, Oregon, in July with a championship-best 10.67 seconds, and also clocked seven under-10.7 times this season, including his world record of 10.62 set in August in Monaco. She has won more world 100m titles than any male or female athlete and won her seventh Diamond League title.

Jackson won her first individual World Championship title, also winning the 200m crown with a championship record 21.45, becoming the second-fastest woman of all time over that distance. Jackson also added the 200m Diamond League title to his resume this season. She has now won world championship medals in the 100m, 200m and 400m.

However, the two have to deal with the world records of Nigerian Tobi Amusan and American Sydney McLaughlin.

McLaughlin broke the world record twice this year with his most recent performance breaking the barriers in Eugene clocking 50.68. Amusan broke the hurdles record in the semi-finals of the championships, with a time of 12.12.

The other Caribbean athlete on the list is Bahamian Shaunae Miller-Uibo.

Miller-Uibo completed the 400-meter title sweep earlier this year when she took gold at the world championships in 49.11.

Voting is now open, with the World Athletics Council counting 50% of the vote, while the World Athletics Family and public votes will count 25% each. Fans can vote on social media using any of World Athletic’s platforms. Voting ends Oct. 31 with the field narrowed to five finalists. Prizes will be awarded in December.

Shortlist of nominees for Female Athlete of the Year

Chase Ealy (USA)

Shericka Jackson (JAM)

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (JAM)

Tobi Amusan (NGR)

Yulimar Rojas (VEN)

Sydney McLaughlin (USA)

Shaunae Miller-Uibo (BAH)

Yaroslava Mahuchikh (UKR)

Faith Kipyegon (KEN)

Kimberly Garcia (PER)


About Author

Comments are closed.